MBBS in Iran

MBBS in Iran

Iran also known as Persia, officially the Islamic Republic of Iran is a sovereign state in Western Asia. With over 81 million inhabitants, Iran is the world’s 18th-most-populous country. Comprising a land area of 1,648,195 km2(636,372 sq mi), it is the second-largest country in the Middle East and the 17th-largest in the world. Iran is bordered to the northwest by Armenia and the Republic of Azerbaijan,[a] to the north by the Caspian Sea, to the northeast by Turkmenistan, to the east by Afghanistan and Pakistan, to the south by the Persian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman, and to the west by Turkey and Iraq. The country’s central location in Eurasia and Western Asia, and its proximity to the Strait of Hormuz, give it geostrategic importance. Tehran is the country’s capital and largest city, as well as its leading economic and cultural center. Iran’s climate is diverse, having 11 climates out of the world’s 13, ranging from arid and semi-arid, to subtropical along the Caspian coast and the northern forests. On the northern edge of the country (the Caspian coastal plain), temperatures rarely fall below freezing and the area remains humid for the rest of the year. Summer temperatures rarely exceed 29 A C (84.2 A F). Annual precipitation is 680 mm (26.8 in) in the eastern part of the plain and more than 1,700 mm (66.9 in) in the western part. Gary Lewis, the United Nations Resident Coordinator for Iran, has said that “Water scarcity poses the most severe human security challenge in Iran today”


Isfahan University of Medical Science

Isfahan (or Esfahan) is the capital city of Isfahan Province and is located almost in the center of Iran. Isfahan metropolitan area has an estimated population of about 4,000,000, making it the second most populous metropolitan area in Iran. The history of Isfahan dates back to ancient times. During the Achaemenid Empire (648-330 BCE), Isfahan was an ethnically and religiously diverse and tolerant city. Isfahan was once one of the largest cities in the world, ranked among places like Athens or Rome and grander than London, Paris and Istanbul. Elegant bridges crossed its modest river, hundreds of domes and minarets punctuated the skyline and polo players dashed across the world’s largest square. Isfahan flourished from the early 11th to the 18th century, and particularly during the Safavi dynasty in the 16th & 17th century when it became the capital of the old Persia for the second time. Even today, the city retains much of its past glory. Many visitors believe Isfahan is the most beautiful city in Iran and one of the most beautiful in the world. It features numerous tree-lined boulevards and flower gardens, miles of beautiful parks along the Zayandeh Rood river; 1300 year-old covered bazaars, bridges, palaces, mosques, and minarets. This led to the Persian proverb “Esfahan nesf-e- jahanast” (Isfahan is half of the world). Isfahan’s Imam Square, also known as the Naghsh-e Jahan (meaning portrait of the world) Square, is one of the largest city squares in the world and an outstanding example of Iranian and Islamic architecture. Around the square sit a number of world-famous wonders of Islamic architecture. The Imam Square is designated by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site.

Tehran University of Medical Sciences

Tehran University of Medical Science

Tehran University of Medical Sciences (TUMS) was created In 1851 and is the oldest and most well-known medical university globally. Tehran University of Medical Sciences as one of the Iran’s top research universities accepts applications from the most qualified students. It also has the largest schools of medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, rehabilitation, allied medical sciences, public health, advanced technologies in medicine, nutritional sciences and dietetics, and nursing and midwifery in Iran as well as a virtual school. Over a hundred specialized research centers such as Science and Technology in Medicine, Rheumatology, Auditory, Digestive Disease, Skin Diseases and Leprosy, Trauma, Hematology and Oncology, Cardiovascular Diseases, Endocrinology and Metabolism, Reproductive Health, Urology, Immunology, and Asthma and Allergy are under the immediate supervision of this university. Tehran University of Medical Sciences has many teaching hospitals: Imam Khomeini, Sina, Shariati, Vali-e Asr, Amir Alam, Ziayian, and Baharloo are general and referral hospitals; Children’s Medical Center and Bahrami Hospital are TUMS pediatriccenters; Farabi Hospital is a special center for ophthalmology; Razi Hospital is devoted to dermatology; Roozbeh Hospital is a center for psychiatry; Arash and Moheb-e Yas are special hospitals for gynecology, obstetrics and infertility; Tehran Heart Center is a cardiology center; and Cancer Institute, as the name suggests, specializes in cutting-edge cancer research and treatment. In addition, TUMS has excellent sports facilities for academics and students. These factors, along with the abilities and drive of its specialists, have made TUMS an important center with a notable reputation in the region and Central Asia. Tehran University of Medical Sciences is a large university. One of the many advantages of its size is that it can offer a wide range of courses. Admission to TUMS is granted without regard to race, color, religion, gender or national origin. TUMS admits by field of study and degree, and, when you apply, you must indicate your interest in a major and degree. Residency and fellowship programs are also offered to international students. The academic schedule at TUMS is semester-based. The fall semester begins in September and ends in January. The spring semester begins in February and ends in June. All international students will be admitted to start at the beginning of each semester.

Shiraz University of Medical Sciences

Shiraz University of Medical Sciences (SUMS) is a public medical school located in Shiraz, Iran. The Foundation of Shiraz University of Medical Sciences(SUMS) dates back to about 70 years ago when Shiraz Institute of Higher Health Education admitted a few medical students (1945). The High Institute of Health developed into Medical Faculty in 1946. The medical school is located in central Shiraz, which was founded in 1946 as a college within Pahlavi University.

Shahid Beheshti University of Medical Sciences

Shahid Beheshti University of Medical Sciences is one of the three medical universities in Tehran, the capital of Iran. It began in 1961 with the establishment of the Schools of Medicine and Dentistry. Following the merging of some of the treatment and educational units and organizations affiliated to the then Ministry of Health University (National University) in 1986, Shahid Beheshti University of Medical Sciences began its activities independently.

Sharif University of Technology

Established in 1965, Sharif University of Technology (SUT) accepted the responsibility of training highly-qualified and committed human resources along with conducting applied researches in numerous fields of study .This university has more than 420 faculty members, 13 academic departments, 6 research centers, 15 centres of excellence and an international campus.